Can the New York Sports Teams Bring Championships Back to the City?

It’s been a tough few years for New Yorkers when it comes to their NFL, NBA and MLB teams. Considering it’s one of the largest sports markets in the world, it’s shocking that it’s been over a decade that a team from New York has won a championship, which going back to 1900, is the second-longest length of time the Big Apple has gone without lifting a trophy. With all those struggles, we decided to look into each franchise’s drought without a championship, and how close they may be to ending it. 


Last Championship: 2011

Since their magical 2011 Super Bowl victory over the New England Patriots, it’s been pretty tough going for the Giants. They have just one playoff appearance since they last hoisted the Lombardi trophy, which was a loss to the Green Bay Packers in the Wild Card round in 2016. Newly appointed head coach Brian Daboll is the fifth man to lead the G Men since that time, and they have only posted a winning record twice in the last decade. Daboll comes in with a great reputation from his time as the offensive coordinator at the Buffalo Bills, where he oversaw the moulding of quarterback Josh Allen to a flawed signal caller with raw ability to one of the best players in the league. It is clear the Giants are in rebuilding mode, and will hope that they can improve with a core of Daniel Jones, Saquon Barkley and Kadarius toney. Unsurprisingly, their Super Bowl odds are some of the longest in the entire league, with these NY sportsbooks offering odds of +10000 to win it all this year.


Last Championship: 1969

While it’s been tough going for Giants fans in recent years, it’s been worse for Jets fans. The franchise’s only championship came over 50 years ago in Super Bowl III when Joe Namath led Gang Green to a win over the Johnny Unitas led Baltimore Colts. It’s been slim pickings ever since, with only 12 postseason appearances in franchise history, and zero appearances since 2010, when Mark Sanchez led them to the AFC Championship game. Head coach Robert Saleh was rightly lauded during his time as defensive coordinator at the San Francisco 49ers, and is approaching his second year in charge of the Jets. Fans of the Green Machine will be hoping they have found their franchise quarterback in Zach Wilson, who had a few good moments in his rookie year, but still struggled. It’s been an interesting offseason for the Jets, bringing in offensive lineman Laken Tomlinson, cornerback D.J Reed, tight ends C.J Uzomah and Tyler Conklin, safety Jordan Whitehead and pass-rusher Jacob Martin. Fans won’t be expecting a Super Bowl victory this year, but they will need to see improvements on a 4-13 season last year. According to the bookies at NY sportsbooks, they are expected to finish with the second-worst record in the league and have +15000 odds to win the Super Bowl this year.


Last Championship: 1973

The Knicks are a real sleeping giant of the NBA. They are a franchise with a great winning history, and there have been a lot of incredible Knicks teams throughout history. However, they have missed the playoffs in 13 of the last 16 seasons and in recent history they have been more famous for disappointing their fanbase. Last year fans thought they had turned a corner under Tom Thibodeau, going 41-31 and finishing as a four seed in the Eastern Conference, led by the scoring of Julius Randle. This year, they have been less impressive and with the season winding down, it seems as if it’s going to be another year of pain for Knicks fans. In Immanuel Quickley and R.J. Barrett, they have a pair of young stars to build around, but they are going to need a true franchise star if they want to compete


Last championship: 1974 (ABA)

Unlike the Knicks, star power is not something the Brooklyn Nets are in need of. With Kevin Durant, Kyrie Irving and a returning Ben Simmons, they have one of the best big threes in the game. Also unlike the Knicks, the Nets have very little in terms of sustained success in their history, but with this incredible superstar power they boast now, they are arguably the closest franchise in New York to a championship. With the recent news that Kyrie Irving is eligible to play home games thanks to a vaccine exemption they will be hoping to improve upon last year’s Eastern Conference semi finals defeat by the eventual NBA champion Milwaukee Bucks. Sportsbooks currently have the Nets at +550 to win it this season.


Last championship: 2009

The Yankees are one of the most successful franchises in all sports, with 27 World Series titles to their name. That makes the now 12-year wait for another all the harder for Yankees fans to take. In 2000, the Yankees won a championship in a Subway Series against the Mets and in 2009 they won the World Series against the Philadelphia Phillies. Since then, the franchise has lost in the ALCS on four different occasions. The Yankees have odds of +1000 to end their drought and make it 28 titles. 


Last Championship: 1986

The Mets have two World Series pennants to their name, one in 1969, and one in 1986. However, since losing to cross-town rival Yankees in the World Series in 2000, they have made the postseason just three times. Mets fans will be hoping this upcoming season will be different, mostly in part to billionaire owner Steve Cohen opening up the cheque book this offseason. The additions of Max Scherzer, Starling Marte, Mark Canha and Eduardo Escobar in free agency, as well as the trade for All-Star pitcher Chris Bassitt have firmly placed the Mets in ‘win now’ mode. In Scherzer and Jacob DeGrom, the Mets have the best one-two punch in the entire league, and sportsbooks are offering odds of +1000 to win a championship this season.