Biggest Wins in Premier League History

The Premier League continues to be the biggest deal in the world of football and the most popular betting league on the planet. Whether you are a sports fan checking out the latest articles or a punter selecting a new betting site – such as that outlined in this Copybet Review – the English top flight captivates the imagination unlike any other.

Since being established in 1992, the Premier League has produced many memorable matches, from end-to-end clashes to hard-fought battles for the title. Some of these epic encounters have been close, others not so much. Here, we look back at the biggest thrashings in the history of the league.

Newcastle United 8-0 Sheffield Wednesday (1999)

Things couldn’t have gone much better for Sir Bobby Robson in his first home game in charge of his boyhood club, with his beloved Magpies putting Sheffield Wednesday to the sword in emphatic style. All-time top-scorer Alan Shearer did most of the damage with a five-goal salvo, with Aaron Hughes, Gary Speed, and Kieran Dyer chipping in with the other strikes.

Chelsea 8-0 Wigan Athletic (2010)

In May 2010, Chelsea, managed by Carlo Ancelotti, secured the Premier League title in style. They defeated Wigan Athletic 8-0 on the final day of the season. This victory clinched the title and set a new record for the most goals scored in a single Premier League season (103 goals).

Chelsea 8-0 Aston Villa (2012)

Chelsea were at it again two years later in this Aston Villa annihilation at Stamford Bridge. A woeful Villa outfit had no answers as Fernando Torres, David Luiz, Branislav Ivanovic, Frank Lampard, Ramires, Oscar, and Eden Hazard all got in on the goalscoring act.

Southampton 8-0 Sunderland (2014)

Southampton appears three times on this list, but unfortunately for Saints fans, this October 2014 fixture represents the clear highlight. Graziano Pellé hit a double, with Jack Cork, Dusan Tadic, and Victor Wanyama also getting in on the act. Sunderland didn’t help their cause, with Santiago Vergini, Liam Bridcutt, and Patrick van Aanholt all managing to score an own goal.

Manchester City 8-0 Watford (2019)

5-0 down after only 18 minutes, this was one of the fastest capitulations in Premier League history. Watford managed to stem the blue tide a little after that, but still conceded a further three times in the second half, with Bernardo Silva completing his hat-trick on the hour mark.

Sheffield United 0-8 Newcastle United (2023)

When Newcastle United go goal crazy, it tends to be against one of the Sheffield clubs. 24 years on from their St. James Park obliteration of Wednesday, this time, the Blades were cut to shreds. Newcastle’s biggest-ever away win was Sheffield United’s heaviest home defeat in their 134-year history. The Magpies also became the first Premier League side to have eight different goalscorers in a single game.

Tottenham Hotspur 9-1 Wigan Athletic (2009)

Another astonishing scoreline involving Wigan Athletic, this time at White Hart Lane in November 2009. Tottenham Hotspur, led by manager Harry Redknapp, dismantled Wigan with a 9-1 victory. Jermain Defoe scored five goals in this match, becoming only the third player in Premier League history to achieve this feat.

Manchester United 9-0 Ipswich Town (1995)

In March 1995, Sir Alex Ferguson's Manchester United achieved a record-breaking win against Ipswich Town. The Red Devils displayed their attacking prowess, with Andy Cole scoring five. This win showcased United's dominance during the mid-'90s.

Southampton 0-9 Leicester City (2019)

Leicester City's incredible journey from relegation candidates to Premier League champions in 2016 was exemplified in their 9-0 thrashing of Southampton in October 2019. Jamie Vardy scored a memorable hat-trick in this historic victory, which set a new record for the largest away win in Premier League history.

Manchester United 9-0 Southampton (2021)

Both United and Southampton managed to enter the record books in this one. The Red Devils became the first side to score nine goals on more than one occasion, and the beleaguered Saints the first team to concede nine twice. Having presided over the 9-0 loss to Leicester, Southampton boss Ralph Hasenhüttl was left with an unpleasant case of déjà vu.

Liverpool 9-0 Bournemouth (2022)

Things were already looking bleak for Bournemouth boss Scott Parker ahead of this 2022 Anfield clash, and the Reds sealed his fate in devasting style. Looking like a mismatch from the off, the dispirited Cherries outfit couldn’t cope with Liverpool’s attacking might. The only surprise with this game is that Mo Salah didn’t get on the scoresheet.